WES Clusters

WES regional activity is organised through a network of Clusters run by WES Members throughout the UK, with the aim to connect Members locally, increase the number of women engineers we can reach and support, encourage girls into engineering and generally increase our reach at a local level.  Many Clusters are organising virtual events, and you will be welcomed wherever in the country you live!  WES Members can log into the Members area of the Website to find listing of events taking place.

Cluster Groups

The Cluster regions are listed below.

England - North

Cumbria and Lancashire Facebook Cluster co-ordinator: Sophie Morris (nee Dent)  cumbria@wes.org.uk

Manchester Twitter Cluster co-ordinator: Liz Rickard (email: manchester@wes.org.uk)

Merseyside and Wirral Cluster co-ordinator: Krystina Pearson-Rampeearee and Rosti Readioff (email: merseyside@wes.org.uk)

Tyne and Tees Facebook(@WEStyneandtees) / Twitter(@westyneandtees) • Instagram photos and videos, LinkedIn

Cluster co-ordinator: Jo Douglas-Harris (Email: TeesandTynesidecluster@wes.org.uk)

Yorkshire Cluster including Sheffield (Facebook | LinkedIn) Cluster co-ordinator: Clare Walsh (Email: yorkshire@wes.org.uk)

England - Central

East Anglia (Norfolk, Suffolk & Cambridgeshire) Cluster Co-ordinator:   (email: eastanglia@wes.org.uk)

Heart of England (Hereford, North Gloucestershire and Worcestershire) Cluster co-ordinator: Anne Seldon (email: heartofengland@wes.org.uk)

Midlands Cluster co-ordinator Julia MacFarlane (email: midlands@wes.org.uk)

Nottinghamshire Cluster Co-ordinator: Fengyu Zhang (email: nottinghamshire@wes.org.uk)

England - South

Berkshire Cluster co-ordinator: Maite Sevilla (Email: berks@wes.org.uk)

Bristol, Bath and Somerset Cluster co-ordinator:  (email bristolandbath@wes.org.uk)

Essex Cluster co-ordinator: Amy Barr (email: essex@wes.org.uk

Herts & Beds  Facebook Cluster co-ordinator: Kim Everitt (email: hertsandbeds@wes.org.uk)

Kent (Facebook) Cluster co-ordinator: Jenna Seetohul (Email: kent@wes.org.uk)

London LinkedIn Twitter Instagram:@london_wes_cluster  Cluster co-ordinator: Laura Luckhurst (email: londoncluster@wes.org.uk

South Coast (covering Dorset, Wiltshire and Hampshire) (Facebook) Twitter @WES_South_Coast Cluster co-ordinator Sharon Jones (email HantsandDorset@wes.org.uk)  Website

Surrey and Sussex Cluster Co-ordinator Joanne Kirkland (email: surreyandsussex@wes.org.uk)

Thames & Chiltern (Buckinghamshire, South Gloucestershire & Oxfordshire) Cluster Co-ordinator: Jessica Wattle (email: thames@wes.org.uk)

Scotland

Cluster co-ordinator: Lorna Bennet (Facebook) (Email: scotland@wes.org.uk)

Wales

Cluster co-ordinator Katherine Critchley (Email: WalesWESCluster@wes.org.uk)

Northern Ireland

Cluster co-ordinator Erin Carr (Email: northernireland@wes.org.uk)


Vacancies

West Country (Taunton, Devon, Cornwall)

Would you like to volunteer as a Cluster Co-ordinator?  Below are examples of activities undertaken by Cluster Co-ordinators:

  • Know the engineering scene in your area, and make contacts. Get yourself known as the WES ambassador for the locality, and engage with companies with a view to organising visits, using their facilities for evening lectures and networking events
  • Organise events for members, including virtual events
  • Distribute local information to members
  • Increase WES' reach in your area
  • Link with other local relevant organisations and where relevant join together to organise events
  • Engage with local schools and FE colleges to see whether they need help with encouraging girls into engineering, and make use of the STEM ambassador programme to help provide the resources
  • Make your own agenda for change, and be as active as your imagination (and time) allows.

Any enquiries related to these vacant cluster areas should be directed to Tristan at tristan.holland@wes.org.uk